Public Shooting Range Permit


Current hunting/furaker license also provides range privilege

Beginning April 1, 2011, those who shoot firearms at one of the Pennsylvania Game Commission’s State Game Lands public shooting ranges must possess and carry with them either an annual $30 range use permit or a current general hunting or furtaker license. Individuals without a range use permit or hunting or furtaker license will be fined.

In recent years, the Game Commission has made costly repairs and renovations to the 29 State Game Land shooting ranges it operates throughout Pennsylvania. These projects included lead remediation, safety barrier reconstruction, shooting range redesign and other related work. The projects came at a high cost, but kept many shooting ranges open and available to the public.

Historically, hunter and furtaker license dollars have provided most, if not all, of the funding needed to keep the agency’s shooting ranges open to the public. But, in many cases, hunters and furtakers today are outnumbered on State Game Lands ranges by firearms enthusiasts who do not hunt or trap. The new permit helps to ensure everyone who shoots at the agency’s ranges pays a fair share to support their existence and operation.

The regulations that govern the Game Commission’s State Game Lands shooting ranges were recently revised and adopted by the Board of Game Commissioners. They have since been published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin and now govern State Game Lands shooting range usage. Click here to read the revised State Game Lands shooting range regulations.

Exceptions to this new permit requirement are those 15 years of age and younger properly accompanied by a licensed or permitted person 18 years of age or older. Each licensed hunter or range permit holder may have one guest.

Range permits will be available to purchase, beginning on March 30, through this link: Buy a State Game Lands Shooting Range Permit.

Unlike online hunting and furtaker license purchases, range use permits will be printed at the time of purchase. Consequently, you must have a functioning printer for your personal computer to complete the permitting process. Range permits also can be purchased at the agency’s Harrisburg Headquarters and all six region offices, and require either a credit or debit card.

For the first year, range permits will be valid from the date of purchase until June 30, 2012. After that, permits will be valid from July 1 through June 30. Hunting and furtaker licenses are valid over the same period.

Range permits and hunting or furtaker licenses do not need to be displayed while using a State Game Lands public shooting range, but must be in possession, as well as a secondary form of identification.

Leave a Reply